“Go Make Something Of Yourself…”

So, I am having a conversation with someone whom I love dearly.  And in the course of the conversation, he said several things that really bothered me.  In thinking about why they bothered, I felt more and more hurt – not so much because of what he said, but more because of what seemed to be the assumptions he was making.  And I also found myself growing angry, as well.  Believe me, the fact that I was able to identify an emotion as anger, and not hurt or depression, is a major step for me.  Anyway, when I feel hurt, angry, whatever, I tend to write.  I also tend to write during the holiday season, regardless of how I feel.  So welcome to my first poem of 2014.

“Go Make Something…”
Melinda LaFevers
New Year’s, 2014

You really don’t know me, do you.
You told me “Go make something of yourself.”
You really don’t understand.
I am who I am.
I’ve gone through pain and struggles
and so many times I’ve hit the floor
but every time I’ve stood back up
and waded in for more.
“Go make something of yourself” you said.
It took me awhile, but now I’m seeing red.
I thought you thought I WAS someone.
I didn’t know I was so wrong.
It hurts to know
you have no respect
for the person I’ve become.
“Go make something of yourself.”
How could you be so blind?
I’ve gone through fires
and times of no hope
but somehow still,
I crawled on.
“Go make something of yourself.”
I already have.
Formed by pain and struggle
forced to my knees
time and again
and still, every time
I’ve grown.
Once more, I stand.
“Go make something of yourself.”
If you’re too blind to see it still,
Someday I’ll find the one who will.

6 thoughts on ““Go Make Something Of Yourself…”

  1. mlaf2013 Post author

    Thank you! Sometimes I just need to hear that. I know I’m not perfect, but I do learn and grow, and when I fall down, I always try to get back up…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

