New Year’s Resolutions – I will do more

Well, it is that time of year again.  Midnight of the new year.  The fireworks are going off.  Hubba, hubba.  I am alone, which is not what I expected this year.  I expected to share the new year with someone I care about a great deal.  It would have been long distance, via Skype, but it still would have been shared.  That didn’t happen, and he is sharing the new year with someone else.  Life goes on, and I – well, after shedding a few tears, I once more turn to words for solace.  It is a time for new beginnings.

So.  

New Year Resolutions.  A few years ago, I realized that I didn’t like resolutions.  The time of a new year is often a time of reflection, of promises to oneself.  This is the year I WILL lose that weight.  I WILL keep my house spotless.  I WILL write that book.  I WILL…I WILL…I always made those resolutions, those promises to myself, and I always failed.  So, pondering this two or three years back, I told myself that I wasn’t going to make any resolutions at all.  But, as I said, the new year tends to be a time for reflection, self analysis, renewal.  I decided that not making any resolution at all wasn’t going to cut it.  But what kind of resolution could I make that would not make me feel like a failure when I failed to keep it?  I pondered this.  Thought about it.  Then, it hit me.  I came up with a New Year’s Resolution that I have used ever since – and have managed to keep.  What is it?  Simple.

This year, I will do more.

More what?  whatever.  I am not an efficient housekeeper.  In fact, I and others term me as a hoarder.  Resolutions to clean my house and keep it clean have never worked.  But I can do more.  I have studied, pondered, prayed, and slowly, very slowly, am getting rid of stuff that I don’t need, don’t love,don’t use, and doesn’t make me smile.  Sometimes I feel like for every step forward, I slide five steps backwards and fall down.  But everytime, I eventually get back up.  I do more.

I am overweight.  I could stand to lose between 60 and 80 pounds.  Resolve to lose weight?  HAH!  But I can do more towards becoming healthy.  I can eat more fresh vegetables.  Last year, I bought an exercise machine.  It is in my bedroom.  I don’t use it often, but I have not turned it into a clothes horse, and I really do, occasionally, get on it and walk a little bit.  This year, I resolve to do more.  I don’t have to do it every day, or even every week.  Just a little more.

I am a writer.  I am a published writer.  In fact, I should be working on my magazine article, deadline of (WHOOPS!) today, instead of writing a blog post.  Not only do I write a column for a magazine, but I have 3 speculative fiction books started.  People who have read the first few chapters of each one tell me I need to finish them.  I need to write everyday – but I know myself far too well to make that a resolution.   So what will I resolve?  I will do more.

In the upcoming year, I will do more.  I will declutter.  I will exercise.  I will write. I will grow, I will learn, I will read, I will survive.  Who knows.  Maybe I will thrive.

I Will Do More.

Leave a Reply

